Nicholas Bohnsack '00, President of Strategas, will keynote the 15th Annual Financial Services Forum on April 17, 2020
Nicholas Bohnsack '00, President of Strategas, will keynote the 15th Annual Financial Services Forum on April 17, 2020
Financial Services Forum to kick off Alumni Engagement Day 2020
Feb 26, 2020, by Staff Writer

Bryant’s strong alumni network in finance and financial services will convene on campus April 17 for the 15th annual Financial Services Forum, which kicks off Alumni Engagement Day.

The Forum’s keynote speaker will be Nicholas Bohnsack ’00, Co-Founder and President of Strategas Securities. Bohnsack is a founding member of Bryant’s Wall Street Council, and has been a mentor and advisor to Bryant’s finance students over the past two decades since his graduation. In 2010, Bohnsack received Bryant’s Young Alumnus Leadership Award. His keynote address will focus on the macro economy and his recommendations on global asset allocation based on up-to-the-day information about today’s volatile world markets.

In the morning, an Industry Pathways Panel will bring recent graduates back to share career tips and successes. Ryan Callahan ’09, CIMA, Wealth Planner at Northeast Planning Associates, will moderate, joined by Austin Baker ’16, Consultant at McKinsey & Company; Regina Castro ’14, Institutional Portfolio Manager Associate at MFS Investment Management; Maria Fontana ’12, Senior Treasury Analyst, Vice President at Citizens Bank; and Hannah York ’17, Sales Operations Associate at Smartling.

Later, a Market Trends Panel will tackle the larger issues of investing in today’s marketplace. Scott Voss ’92, Managing Director at HarbourVest Partners, will moderate and panelists will include Alison Svizzero ’01, Director of Investments at Children’s Hospital Boston; Matthew T. O’Rourke ’09, Principal at WindSail Capital Group LLC; and John O’ Connor ’91, Chief Investment Officer and CEO at Battery Global Advisors. 

During lunch, student fund managers will deliver a presentation about their strategies for the Archway Investment Fund Program, and how the funds have performed over the past year. Established in 2005, the program — including an equity portfolio and a fixed income portfolio — serves as a capstone in experiential learning as part of a two-course sequence in Security Analysis and Portfolio Management. Through this hands-on experience, students develop leadership skills, teamwork, and technical expertise. They also gain a vital competitive advantage when seeking employment opportunities after graduation. Keynote speaker Bohnsack has served as an alumni guest speaker and advisor to the AIF program since shortly after it was instituted.

Four of Bryant’s key advisory groups will meet during the day: Bryant’s National Alumni Council, the Dean’s Council, the Parents Council, and the Wall Street Council will each convene to explore best practices and consult on issues affecting academics and students.

2020  Alumni Achievement Award Winners Announced

The evening reception will honor the Alumni Achievement Award winners. Receiving the University’s Distinguished Alumni Awards will be Sharon (Guenther) Garavel ’85, Managing Director and Operations Executive at JP Morgan Chase; and Loren Andreo, Sr. ’51, entrepreneur and owner of Andy’s Supermarkets. The Graduate School’s Distinguished Alumnus Award goes to John Froehlich, MD ’09 MBA, a founding member of University Orthopedics. This year’s Young Alumni Leadership Award will go to Mary (Green) Dunn ’12, ’13 MBA, a Senior Marketing Manager at TribalVision. The Nelson Gulski Service Award will recognize Jay Weinberg ’85, President of the Jay Group in Chicago, and former President of Bryant’s National Alumni Council. This year’s Distinguished Faculty Award will go to Allison Butler, Ph.D., Professor of Psychology, and receiving the Key to the University this year will be George E. Bello ’58, ’96H.

Read More

Related Stories